Five days #6 S(e)oul Food

(+) Some photos, stories and memories that happened the past week, or the last “five days.” For me and G to look back for a moment, breathe and start another new week. I’m currently in Seoul, visiting family.  (+) 지난 일주일 동안의 사진, 이야기 그리고 추억들의 기록. 다음주가 시작되기 전에 잠깐 숨 좀 쉬고.

So I’ve been in Seoul for three days, and I have eaten quite a bit. Not surprisingly. G is Italian and yes, we do talk a lot about food. One of the first questions we ask each other is “So what did you eat today?” Not kidding. So no surprise that I only have food shots.

서울에 온지 삼일. 약간 좀비가 된 상태에서도 먹을건 다 챙겨 먹었다.

s2I plan to have sushi as much as I can.

신선한 생선이 부족하다 못해 거의 볼 수 없는 스튜트가르트. 3일에 한번꼴로 스시 먹고 싶다.

s1Kimchi sushi!

신기하게도 김치를 아는 독일인들은 굉장히 많다. 먹어본 사람은 많지 않지만 일단 아는 사람은 많다.

s3

s4Shabu Shabu is a Japanese dish where you dip thinly sliced meat/ mushrooms or seafood into a broth. Very healthy, very filling. I tend to eat too much because I tell myself it’s healthy because it’s thinly sliced and vegetables.

s6

s5Aaaaand the desserts. I missed the soft and spongy cakes and this time of the year is perfect for strawberries. There are strawberry cakes, pies, bread, muffins and more. I bought the cake for myself haha, and so it was a bit weird when the clerk said, hope it’s a great gift! It was, thank you very much.

순전히 내가 먹고 싶어서 산 생크림 케익. 좋은 선물되라는 직원의 말대로 스스로에게 좋은 선물이 되었다 캬캬.

s7Red beans, also known as the azuki beans, are used for desserts in Asia. It’s different from the red beans we use in Mexican cuisines. Those are pinto beans. They look very similar, but azuki beans are a bit smaller in size and a little bit sweeter, hence dessert beans. Koreans use these beans as a paste too, and one of the most popular red bean paste dessert is “patbingsu.” Shaved ice (some places shave ice milk cubes) and red bean paste. Some places put different toppings, but if the bean paste is good, you don’t need much. I plan to have this as much as I can.

삼성동 현대백화점에 밀탑이 생기게 해준 사람한테 찾아가 진심으로 감사의 마음을 전하고 싶다. 차가워서 켁켁거리면서도 다 먹었음.

For more information:

All photos by rachelsanghee

Leave a Reply

