Paris: The bread

The bread. Le Pain. Das Brot. Whatever you call it, the only way to tell if it’s good bread is to “listen to the sounds.” (Disney’s “Ratatouille”)

And they got it right. The “crunch” really did make all the difference. The day I had my first French baguette in Paris: it was raining, I didn’t have an umbrella and my feet were killing me from all the walking. It was freezing cold and I didn’t want my fingers to be exposed in any way. We were too hungry to find a decent cafe or a sandwich shop, so bought one from a plain, slightly crowded shop on the street. No chairs, no tables. Best baguette I had in my life.)

맛있는 빵은 소리가 다르다..고 하는데, 진짜 먹어보니 그렇다. 파리의 빵은 소리가 다르다. 물론 다 맛있다는 말은 절대 아님. 비오고 춥고 배고파서 아무데나 골라서 사먹은 바게트가…..’_’ 감동. 편하게 앉아 먹는 곳보다는 의자나 식탁없이 말그대로 길 모퉁이에서 빵만 파는 가게들이 훨씬 낫다는 것을 나중에서야 깨달았다. 너무 추워서 들어갔는데 아 괜히 먹었다라는 생각이 절로 들게 하는 정도. 사람들이 많은 곳을 공략하고 뭔가 맥도날드스러운 상업성이 느껴진다면 피해야함

All photos by rachelsanghee

Leave a Reply

